My fashionistas!

I decided to lighten it up a bit and choose the prompt about your fashion icons. I’m not huge into celebrity culture, and I’ve always been a bit of a tomboy, so this one took me a bit to figure out before it dawned on me.

A few years ago, I remember seeing an article about menswear for women and how the concept wasn’t new, it was almost a revival. There was a spread of clothes that were modeled after what Katharine Hepburn would have worn, one after Diane Keaton and a few other women. That was what I wanted. They’re beautiful, strong women who don’t give a shit about what people think about their clothing. They could be both glamorous and functional, both breathtaking and forceful. Just look at them, they’re stunning. Neither were/are afraid to show their true selves, their wit and their intelligence. They didn’t let social norms guide their fashion choices and I think it’s the coolest. 

Then, there’s Melissa McCarthy. I love this woman. I want to be her friend, I’d totally babysit her kids for free and I just want to go do fun things with her because I feel like she’s probably the most normal person who just happens to be hilarious AND GORGEOUS. Seeing someone who looks like me being celebrated on the cover of magazines and in movies and TV shows blows my mind. I can’t say enough awesome things about her. I know she has a clothing line in the works, and I’m really really hoping that it’s going to be accessible and affordable. I just want to hug her and say thank you for making it known that women are different shapes and yet still awesome. Can anyone hook a girl up?!

Leave a Reply

